top of page

Cookbook Prep, Page 3


Yesterday, when I was whipping up gourmet food like the sassy lass that I am, I experienced the occasional doubt about whether the dishes would go over. However, for the most part, the reception was encouraging. Here's what I prepared, and how to do it yourself.

Red Wine Salami Crostini

Oh, yes. I jazzed up our old tomato friend.

1 big tomato, cut up in thin wedges or diced

1 tbsp parmesan olive oil (mix it up if you don't have it)

4 oz. red wine salami, diced

1+ cloves of garlic, chopped (I use 2)

a small handful of diced red onion --- really, we don't have to measure everything

a couple of splashes of leftover red wine if you have it

a dash of black pepper

Did I mention my guests RAVED over this recipe? Try it with a champagne cocktail.

In a small frying pan, start simmering the tomato in the olive oil, and then just add the rest little by little, letting the flavor grow and lead you to your decision-making. Taste. Pause. Read poetry. Dance around the kitchen to city jazz: http://8tracks.com/ohfaye/city-jazz

This can sit and get juicy on low and slow, as long as you want, really --- so when it's nice and thick, pull it off the eye (excuse me, burner)... and use it warm, or chill it for later. All you need now is something to serve it on, like thin foccacia bread. Toast the bread in the oven and then spread on your divine salami tango. By the way, when you get home late from a New Year's Eve party, if you have any of this left over, you should try this with a layer of creamy cheese first. With a dizzy head, I reached in the fridge and found a spinach artichoke variety and indulged. A little sleep and three gatorades later, plus one tylenol, and I'm minus a hangover, pretty much. Enjoy.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page